“Life of a Southern Farmer: Gone With the Wind”

If a person lives on a farm in the state of Georgia, there is a high chance that they have either seen the movie or read the book Gone With the Wind. It is part of our tradition. The book supposedly portrays what life was like for many southerners during the civil war. For those who do not know what it is about, the plot follows a young woman, Scarlet O’Hara, having an affair. She lived on a plantation in Georgia, with the name of Tara, where most of the movie takes place. She is extremely well off in the beginning. The war along with some poor decisions lead to her going bankrupt and starving towards the end. I preformed Scarlet’s final monologue in my drama class. My piece went very well and I later received the highest drama average award because of it in addition to some of my other roles. I personally love the movie and find its main characters comical. Exploring Georgia announces that there is, however, a Tara museum that people can visit in Jonesboro. I have never been to it, but many tourists say that the attraction is well worth the visit.

http://www.exploregeorgia.org/listing/3880-road-to-tara-museum
http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/gone-with-the-wind/images/3046341/title/gone-with-wind-wallpaper

Leave a comment